Jump to a section
How content moderation works on TikTok • What happens if your TikTok video is under review? • What happens to your TikTok account if your content is flagged or reported • What to do if your video is removed or your account is restricted or banned
Our Community Guidelines provide guidance on what is and what isn't allowed on TikTok to help foster a welcoming, safe, and entertaining experience. We've developed tools and technology to identify and remove harmful content and behavior that goes against our Community Guidelines. These tools help us advance the safety of our community and maintain the integrity of our platform.
How content moderation works on TikTok
Content on TikTok first goes through technology that identifies and flags potential policy violations, such as adult nudity and violent and graphic content. When content is identified as violating our Community Guidelines, it will be automatically removed or it will be flagged for additional review by our Safety team.
What happens if your TikTok video is under review?
If your TikTok content or video is under review, it will be reviewed by our Safety team to determine whether it has violated any of our Community Guidelines. This may happen when you upload a video, if it gains popularity, or if it's reported.
If a violation is identified:
• We'll remove the video and notify you of the reason.
• You'll be given the opportunity to appeal the removal directly from the app.
If a violation is not identified:
• Your video will be posted on TikTok.
• If your video is reported or flagged in the future, it could still be removed for violating Community Guidelines.
What happens to your TikTok account if your content is flagged or reported
Our violation system counts the number of violations you get, and is based on the severity and frequency of violations. If you have a violation, we'll notify you of the consequences in the Account Updates section of your Inbox. More frequent violations will result in more penalties, including a temporary or permanent suspension. You can also see a record of your violations in your Inbox.
First violation on your TikTok account
When you receive your first violation:
• We'll send a warning in the app the first time your content violates our Community Guidelines.
• If the violation is a zero-tolerance policy, it will result in an automatic ban. We may also block a device to help prevent future accounts from being created.
Multiple violations on your TikTok account
After your first violation, we can take one or more of the following actions.
• Depending on the severity of the violation and previous violations, we may suspend your account's ability to complete some actions on the platform. For example, we'll notify you if your account is suspended from completing one or more of the following actions: upload a video, comment, send direct messages (DM), or edit your profile, start a LIVE and more for a period of time (typically between 24 and 48 hours).
• In some instances, we may restrict your account to a view-only experience (typically between 72 hours and one week). This means that your account can’t post, send direct messages (DM), or engage with content during that time.
• After several violations, we'll notify you that your account may be permanently banned. This means that if the behavior persists, the account will be permanently banned from TikTok.
• If your account has been banned, you will receive a banner notification when you next open the app, informing you of this account change.
Important things to know about violations:
• Our zero-tolerance policies, such as posting child sexual abuse material, automatically result in permanently banning your account. We may also block a device to help prevent future accounts from being created.
• Accrued violations will expire from your record over time.
What to do if your video is removed or your account is restricted or banned
If you think your video shouldn't have been removed or if your account shouldn't have been restricted or banned, you may have the option to submit an appeal directly from the app.
If we determine that your content or account should be restored:
• The content or account will be reinstated (unless you've already deleted the account or content).
• The penalty will be removed and will not impact the account going forward.