Direct Messages

Jump to a section


About direct messages  •  Send a direct message  •  Share content through a direct message  •  Get to your direct messages  •  Manage direct message conversations  •  Change privacy settings





About direct messages on TikTok


Direct messaging allows you to send a message to someone else on TikTok.
A few things to know about direct messaging:
• Direct messaging on TikTok is only available to registered account holders aged 16 and older. Parents and caregivers can set restrictions on this feature through Family Pairing. Learn more about Family Pairing.
• Private videos can't be shared. If the creator of the video changed the video status from public to private after you shared it in a message, the video will be unavailable and you won't be able to watch it.
• You can choose who can send you direct messages in your privacy settings.
Keep in mind, if you update your direct message setting to No one, you won't be able to receive direct messages. You can still access your conversation history in the Direct messages section of your Inbox, but you can't receive new direct messages in those conversations.






Send a direct message


To send a direct message to someone on TikTok:
1. Tap Inbox at the bottom of your screen.
2. Tap the airplane icon in the top right of your Inbox.
3. From here:
   ༚ If you follow someone and they follow you back, you can tap their name to send a direct message.
   ༚ If you follow someone and they don't follow you back, tap the + icon in the top right, then tap their name to send a direct message.
If you follow someone on TikTok and they follow you back, you can also send them a direct message by going to their profile and tapping Message.






Share content through a direct message


To share a video posted on TikTok:
1. Tap the arrow icon on the right of the video you'd like to share.
2. From here:
   ༚ Below Send to, tap the profile photo of the user you wish to share with.
   ༚ Below Share to, tap Message. Then tap the circle next to who you want to share it with and tap Send. You can select multiple people to share with.
Note: Private videos can't be shared. If the creator of the video changed the video status from public to private after you shared it in a message, the video will be unavailable and you won't be able to watch it.

To share an effect, hashtag, or sound:
1. Find the effect, hashtag, or sound you'd like to share.
   ༚ To search, tap Discover at the bottom of your screen and enter what you're looking for in the search bar.
   ༚ You can also tap an effect, hashtag, or sound directly from a video to share.
2. Tap the arrow in the top right.
3. From here:
   ༚ Below Send to, tap the profile photo of the user you wish to share with.
   ༚ Below Share to, tap Message. Then tap the circle next to who you want to share it with and tap Send. You can select multiple people to share with.






Get to your direct messages


1. Tap Inbox at the bottom of your screen.
2. Tap the airplane icon in the top right of your Inbox.






Manage direct message conversations


To delete or mute a conversation:
You can delete or mute notifications for a conversation from your message list. If you delete a conversation, it only deletes it for you. The person you sent the messages to can still see the messages.
1. Tap Inbox at the bottom of your screen.
2. Tap the airplane icon in the top right of your Inbox.
3. Swipe left (iOS) or long press (Android) and tap Delete to delete the conversation or Mute to stop getting notifications.

You can also mute a conversation by tapping on a username or profile picture from your direct message list, then tapping the three dot icon in the top right. Tap the toggle icon next to Mute notifications to turn on or off.

To report a conversation or block someone:
• Report direct messages. If you receive a message that goes against our Community Guidelines, we encourage you to report it to us. Learn how to report a direct message.
• Block someone on TikTok. You can also block someone so they can't send you direct messages or view your videos on TikTok. Learn how to block another person on TikTok.






Change privacy settings for direct messages


To change who can send you direct messages:
1. Tap Profile in the bottom right to go to your profile.
2. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right to go to your settings.
3. Tap Privacy, then tap Direct messages.
4. Choose who you'd like to allow to send you direct messages.
Keep in mind, if you update your direct message setting to No one, you won't be able to receive direct messages. You can still access your conversation history in the Direct messages section of your Inbox, but you can't receive new direct messages in those conversations.

Was it helpful?