Privacy and Safety settings for users under age 18

At TikTok, we know that creativity and expression are personal. And so is privacy. That's why we empower you, our community, with a range of controls to manage your online presence. As young people start to build a presence online, we believe it's important to provide privacy settings and controls that are age appropriate. That's why we've made some thoughtful changes to the app settings of users under age 18.

As of January 2021, your privacy and safety settings will be updated to reflect the positions described in the table below - unless you have already chosen to apply stricter settings (in which case we won't change these).

These changes, which draw on research, evidence and guidance in the fields of privacy and safety,  build on a number of decisions we've already made to limit younger users from accessing certain features (including direct messages, TikTok LIVE and Gifts) and form an important part of our ongoing commitment to providing all users with a positive, safe and age appropriate experience.

Privacy setting Users under age 16 Users ages 16 and 17
Private account Your account will be set to private. This means only users you approve can follow you and watch your videos. You have the ability to change your account to public. Your account setting will default to public. You have the ability to change your account to private if you choose.
Suggest your account to others This is set to Off. This means your account will not be suggested to other users. You have the ability to set this to On. This is set to On. You have the option to set this to Off to stop your account from being suggested to other users.
Allow your videos to be downloaded This is set to Off and cannot be changed. This is set to Off. You can change this to On if you choose to allow your videos to be downloaded by other users.
Who can Duet with your videos This is set to Only me. Only you can Duet with your videos. This cannot be changed. This is set to Friends. You can change this to Only me or Everyone based on your preference.
Who can Stitch with your videos This is set to Only me. Only you can Stitch your videos. This cannot be changed. This is set to Friends. You can change this to Only me or Everyone based on your preference.
Who can comment on your videos This is set to Friends. This means only users who follow you, who you follow back can comment on your videos. You can change this to No one to stop other users from commenting on your videos. This is set to Everyone. You can change this if you prefer to limit who is able to comment on your videos.