How your phone number is used on TikTok

Jump to a section


Reset your password  •  Strengthen your account security with 2-step verification  •   Find and connect with friends on TikTok


Adding your phone number to your account helps improve your TikTok experience.
Your phone number can be used to:
• Reset your password
• Strengthen your account security with 2-step verification
• Connect with more friends by suggesting your account to other contacts
• Offer you a more personalized ad experience. Learn more about Ads and Your Data in the TikTok Safety Center.






Reset your password


If you've added a phone number to your account, you can use it to recover your account and reset your password if you forget it.

How to reset your password with your phone number:
1. On the TikTok login page, tap Use phone / email / username.
2. Tap Email / Username.
3. Tap Forgot password?, then tap Phone number and enter the phone number on your account.
4. Enter the verification code TikTok sent to your phone number.
5. Create a new password to log in.






Strengthen your account security with 2-step verification


You can set up 2-step verification (2SV) using your phone number. We strongly recommend turning on 2SV to further protect your account. This is a common account security feature that adds an extra layer of protection to help us verify it's you if you log in from an unrecognized device.
Additionally, 2SV provides an added layer of security to your account in case your password is compromised. Many people only have one layer (a password) to protect their account. However with 2SV, if someone obtains your password, they'll still need access to your phone or email address when attempting to log in to your account.

To turn on 2-step verification:
1. Check that you have the latest version of TikTok downloaded.
2. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
3. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right.
4. Tap Settings and privacy.
5. Tap Security and login.
6. Tap 2-step verification and choose at least two verification methods. We recommend SMS* and email.
7. Tap Turn on to confirm.
8. If you have not previously entered your contact information, you'll be prompted to enter an email address and phone number.
9. Tap Send code and on the next screen, enter the verification code sent to you via SMS and email.
The next time you log in, a verification code will be sent to your email or phone. Enter the code into the 2-step verification prompt on your screen to confirm your identity.
*Standard SMS fees may apply.






Find and connect with friends on TikTok


When you add your phone number to your account, we can connect you to your friends on TikTok.

There are 2 ways to connect you with others:
• Suggesting your account to friends in your contact list
• Suggesting accounts for you to follow

Suggest your account to others using contacts
When the Contacts setting in the Suggest your account to others privacy setting is on, your account may be suggested to others on TikTok if you've added your phone number to your TikTok account, and the person we're suggesting your account to has chosen to sync their phone contacts to TikTok and your phone number is in their contacts. Learn more about how your phone number is used to suggest your account.

To review and change the Contacts setting:
1. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
2. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right.
3. Tap Settings and privacy.
4. Tap Privacy, then tap Suggest your account to others.
5. Tap the toggle icon next to Contacts to turn on or off.

Accounts we suggest to you with your phone contacts
We can also help you find and follow people you may know if you've added your phone number and your phone contacts are synced. You can stop syncing at any time and remove any previously synced data from TikTok.

To review and change your Sync Contacts setting:
1. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
2. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right.
3. Tap Settings and privacy.
4. Tap Privacy, then tap Sync contacts and Facebook friends.
5. Tap the toggle icon next to Sync contacts to turn on or off. You can also remove previously synced data.



Was this helpful?