Choosing between a private or public account

As a TikTok user, you can choose whether to have a private account or a public account.

If you have a private account, only users you approve can follow you, view your videos, LIVE videos, bio, likes as well as your following and followers lists. With a private account, other users won't be able to Duet, Stitch, or download your videos.

If you have a public account, your profile and videos will be visible to anyone on or off TikTok. Depending on your Privacy Settings, other users may also be able to Duet, Stitch and download your videos.

Remember, whether your account is private or public, you can always limit the audience for your videos in your Privacy Settings. Regardless of your account type, other users will be able to search for your account, and you can still choose
who can comment on your videos, who can send you direct messages, and decide whether your account is suggested to others.

To set your account as private or public:

1. Go to
Me.
2. Tap
... , located on the top right corner.
3. Go to
Privacy
4. Turn Private Account on or off.