Suggested accounts

Jump to a section


How TikTok suggests accounts to you  •  How TikTok suggests your account to others  •  How to turn suggested accounts on or off

To help you find and follow people you might know on TikTok, we may:
•  Suggest accounts to you, by showing you their videos and the Find Friends feature on your profile.
•  Suggest your account to others on TikTok so they can follow you.






How TikTok suggests accounts to you


Depending on the information you choose to share with TikTok, we may show an account to you because the account belongs to:
•  Someone whose phone number is in your phone contacts, and you've chosen to sync your phone contacts in the Sync contacts and Facebook friends setting.
•  Someone you're friends with on Facebook, and you and the other person have chosen to sync your Facebook friends list in the Sync contacts and Facebook friends setting.
•  Someone you have mutual connections with on TikTok. You may have mutual connections with someone because you follow the same accounts, you follow accounts that already follow them, or they follow accounts you also follow and those accounts follow you back.
•  Someone who follows you on TikTok.
You can turn Sync contacts and Facebook friends on or off in your Privacy settings.






How TikTok suggests your account to others


Depending on the information you allow Tiktok to share, we may suggest your account to:
•  Contacts
•  Facebook friends
•  People with mutual connections
•  People who open or send links to you
You can turn these settings on or off at any time from Suggest your account to others in your Privacy settings.
Keep in mind:
•  Even if all these settings are turned off, your account may still be suggested to those you follow or interact with on TikTok.
•  If your account is private and these settings are on, we will suggest others to follow your account, but only people you approve can follow you and watch your videos.

Contacts
When Contacts in the Suggest your account to others setting is on, your account may be suggested to others on TikTok if:
•  You've added your phone number to your TikTok account.
•  The person we're suggesting your account to has chosen to sync their phone contacts to TikTok.
•  Your phone number is in their contacts.
Note: If you turn on this setting, you don't need to sync your phone contacts with your TikTok account to have your account suggested to others.

Facebook Friends
When Facebook friends in the Suggest your account to others setting is on, your account may be suggested to someone else on TikTok who is your Facebook friend if both of you have chosen to sync your Facebook friends list with TikTok.

People with Mutual Connections
When People with mutual connections in the Suggest your account to others setting is on, your TikTok account may be suggested to someone else on TikTok you share mutual connections with.

You may have mutual connections with someone else on TikTok if:
• Both of you follow the same accounts.
• You follow accounts that follow them.
• They follow accounts you follow and those accounts follow you back.

People Who Open or Send Links to You

When People who open or send links to you in the Suggest your account to others setting is on, your TikTok account may be suggested to someone else on TikTok who sent you a link or who opened a link you sent to a video on TikTok. This includes links that are shared off the TikTok platform (for example, by text message or a third-party platform).






How to turn suggested accounts on or off


You can review and control how your account is suggested to others and how accounts are suggested to you in your Privacy settings.

Suggest your account to others
Use this setting to control if your account is suggested to Contacts, Facebook friends, People with mutual connections, and People who open or send links to you.

To change how your account is suggested to others:
1. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
2. Tap the 3-line menu icon in the top right.
3. Tap Settings and privacy.
4. Tap Privacy, then tap Suggest your account to others.
5. Tap the toggle icon next to the setting you'd like to change. If you turn on Facebook friends, then you must also Sync Facebook friends.

Sync contacts and Facebook friends
Use this setting to allow TikTok to sync your phone contacts and Facebook friends and help you find and follow people. You can stop syncing at any time and remove any previously synced data from TikTok.

To sync your phone contacts or Facebook friends on TikTok:
1. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
2. Tap the 3-line menu icon in the top right.
3. Tap Settings and privacy.
4. Tap Privacy, then tap Sync contacts and Facebook friends.
5. Tap the toggle icon next to Sync contacts or Sync Facebook friends to turn on or off. You can also remove previously synced data.


Was this helpful?